What is your Friday afternoon, on-the-way-home song?

There are songs that get you to relax behind the wheel, songs that rev you up, causing you to take risks you otherwise might not take. Then, there are songs for that Friday drive home from work, on a Fall day in Florida, when the time has “fallen back” and the sun goes down earlier and in such a display of color that you can’t help but sigh and mash the accelerator to the floor.

I rediscovered a Radiohead song last week on my Last FM account, that I’d forgotten about. I quickly forgot the name of it again and went the rest of the week not thinking about it until Friday. The quickest way from A to B is a straight line, so I searched for it on Amazon (this is not a plug, but literally the way I find song names sometimes) and found out that it was called You, the first song on their first album.

I had their first album. How could I have missed this? A slightly weak intro on the song’s part, and a lack of patience on mine? I quickly found it in the collection on my work computer, and immediately began bouncing back and forth in a loop between You, a Delta Spirit tune I’d gotten from a Starbucks card, called Bushwick Blues, and Bowie’s The Man Who Sold The World.

Five o’ clock could not come soon enough, and eventually I got to leave at about half past. There was less traffic due to a lot of people taking the day off after having had the previous day, Veteran’s Day, off from work. My wife had taken the day off too, so I was free to blast the fancy stereo in the Volkwagen (a 2007 Rabbit we got new at the beginning of ’08) with my Zune. The whole drive home was a rush of adrenaline, downshifting through the little traffic, banging through the gears, and at the same time very relaxing with the pink and orange sunset in the background. I love this time of year because it’s the one time of year, in Florida, when it’s cool enough outside for you to comfortably drive with the windows down. I blasted You over and over all the way home, killing this week’s gas mileage in process. But, sometimes it’s worth it. Sometimes it’s more about smiles per gallon than it is about miles per gallon.

What about you? Is there a song, relaxing or otherwise, that perfectly fits your Friday afternoon drive home?

Leave a Reply

