Piloti Avus Driving Shoes: 1 Month Review

Hello all, it’s been a little while since I last posted. Things have been pretty crazy in life, but it feels good to get back to blabbering on the internet (like I really stopped that).

Anyways, my old Adio’s were looking pretty worn last month, so I decided to bid them adiós. You hear all this talk on online reviews about driving shoes not being comfortable for walking, or that they generally lack padding, but these have proved to be very livable on a daily basis.

For the past two years I’ve been wearing nothing but Adio footwear (2 pairs in that time) because I liked the way they looked, they were comfortable when they were new, and they weren’t so common that I’d likely see them on anyone else (how embarrassing would that be?). After a year of walking, driving, eating, drinking, and living in these, the inner heels were starting to lose their stuffing, mainly on the right foot. This made driving pretty uncomfortable to say the least.

old Adios

My old worn Adios, or as my wife calls them "the pre-schooler-looking shoes."

I guess from what you can see here, I like black shoes with blue accents. It matches with my regular “nice jeans/nice shirt for work” combo. I was originally looking for Piloti’s G16, but they are apparently out of production now because the only sizes that I could find them in were either too big or too small for my feet.

Piloti G16

Piloti G16

So, I went to browsing through Piloti’s online store and found the Avus. There weren’t too many reviews about them, as they seemed to be fairly new, but they looked and sounded comfortable from the little information that I could find, so I decided to try them out. For less than a hundred bucks, even if I only wore them for a year, I’d be getting my money’s worth.

Piloti Avus

Piloti Avus

By comparison, this is still a casual shoe, but a bit more maturely-shaped in that my foot now looks long and flat rather than box-like. And when they arrived, I discovered from the tags that the strange small bits of orange stitching are because of an affiliation with Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca (official colors). Depending on what I’m wearing, they typically look nice and pretty much un-noticeable, or sometimes they make me look like a geek. But that’s what flip-flops were made for.

Piloti Avus bottom
Now, try to keep in mind that these have seen a little bit of wear as I’ve had them on just about every day for the past five weeks, so they no longer look perfect. The bottom of my right shoe (on the left above) seems to be wearing a little more quickly than the left. That could have something to do with the way that I walk because I don’t walk exactly straight. I tend to walk on the outer edges of my heels and follow through to my toes strongly. As you can see, there are special grips on the outer edges of the front of the shoe, making pedal effort comfortable and predictable (they don’t slip). Before they arrived, I assumed that the shoes would have thinner soles than my Adio skate shoes, but this is not the case. They are much thicker in the heel, leading down to a thinner toe for easier pedal feel.

Piloti insole
There are even these neat little liquid pockets that add to the comfort. For the first week or two, whenever I’d sit down, I’d move my toes around because they could slip around on this liquid-filled insole, which felt like stepping on a water bed that wasn’t entirely full. Interesting and well… slippery.

To sum it up, these are really comfortable shoes and I’m happy with them. They’re true to size, so you shouldn’t really need to try them on in a store, if you’ve had your foot sized within the past year or two. These were bought online and turned out okay. They can be worn daily, but I don’t know if I’d advise it if you’re on your feet all day. I am active throughout the day, but I’m also a designer, so it’s alot of sitting in front of the computer.

Next time, I’ll be showing off the new toy, a Nikon D90 digital SLR camera. It’s not here yet, but I’ll be checking my doorstep every day until then (so syched). With that I’ll be able to bring you more and better photos, content, and hoon art. I’m hoping to take it to this year’s Honda Grand Prix Indy car race on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida. I can’t wait!

ó

Leave a Reply

