Car-lovers mourn Yutaka Katayama, father of the classic ‘Z’ sports line

Datsun 240Z that I spotted back in 2012.Reshared from PRI’s The World

[Ed. note – I wanted to share this smaller report as well about Mr K, that I heard on PRI’s The World, due to the personal details mentioned. I also decided to use one of my own photos for the lead image on this reshare. The loss of the father of the Z is a personal one in that an early Z-car, my mother’s 280ZX, was a large part of what started me in having an interested in cars when I was a child. The loss of the man who brought us the affordable sports car is a great one. The world needs more Mr K’s.]

Diehard fans of the “240-Z” know that you can’t think of this sports car without thinking of Yutaka Katayama. Or the “father of the Z,” as he was known to Datsun and Nissan fans. (more…)

Leave a Reply

